robertsonyurt

Ecological lifestyle

Winter 2017 in Robertson Yurt/Roundhouse

2 Comments

The first day of Winter in the Robertson Yurt/Roundhouse situated in NSW Southern Highlands and in the Southern Hemisphere. Crispy, crunchy, frosty, mornings and nights but blue sky, glorious days. Some rain, but needing more rain for our earth.

The fabulous Canadian Osburn combustion fire is keeping the Robertson Yurt/Roundhouse lovely and cosy. Sleeping up in the mezzanine is even cosier. Watching the flickering flames and coals is meditative and many an hour is spent in quiet contemplation of life and living, of people and places.  Time for planning too. Feeling blessed.

The shorter days are sometimes obstacles as less time to work outside in the garden, or to be out walking in the country with my newish walking poles. I have become a member of a large bushwalking club (picture taken in Blue Mountains recently on one of my walks) for the reasons of getting fitter, and keeping healthy until I am 96, to be closer with nature and explore areas I would not venture into by myself, and to be with others, who also have these interests. As a “one” it is nice to share things. I hope never to lose my memories of very fond memories with another special person.

The other side of the coin is time to snuggle in the yurt, to cook yummy, nourishing meals, to sit and knit whilst listening to Leonard Cohen, to hibernate in my own thoughts and allow feelings to ebb through me whilst being cocooned in the “cave”. My lovely friend likened the yurt to an oasis, and a refuge. Yes, it is all of that and more. I hope that this friend allows themself to return one day to enjoy those feelings again, of being snuggled in a beautiful spiritual space with nature all around, to enjoy the natural food and to learn how to cook this, and to just be their natural self in a natural world.

The birds have become accustomed to my pattern of rising in the mornings. The magpies chortle their hellos and when I pull the curtains open the trees have magpies, rosellas, king parrots and wonga pigeons in them … all waiting on some treats. So lovely!

As custodian of the yurt and a spiritual guide to living simply I feel a responsibility but it is all good. The people that the yurt attracts share these philosophies and that is a gift.

May everyone’s Winter be wonderful.

Image may contain: mountain, sky, cloud, outdoor and nature

Author: Jillit

Greetings and welcome. The Theme of my Blog is about endeavouring to live an Ecological Lifestyle, based on Permaculture Principles. Some of the Topics we will explore in an entertaining manner all radiate out from 3 main slices of living ... Shelter (Yurts and Round Houses), Warmth and Food. A very special person once wrote "Learn From The Past, Think for Tomorrow ... Act Today". I have carried a little motto in my wallet for years ..."We are more of who we are because of the connections we have made". I look forward to our connections. ;-)

2 thoughts on “Winter 2017 in Robertson Yurt/Roundhouse

  1. And now it is SPRING!!! Hope the tendrils are pushing their way through the earth down there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

